Introduction: Dr. Phil’s Life Code Book Chapter Summary.

When I saw the original copy of, “Life Code; The New Rules For Winning In The Real World,” written by Phil McGraw (AKA television show host Dr. Phil), I felt that perhaps I could benefit from what it had to offer. I think I felt particularly drawn to this book given the events that have taken place in my own life. Not really being an avid follower of Dr. Phil’s show, but having read other material written by him, I felt certain that I might get something out of this latest publication of his given the common sense approach he’s demonstrated in his previous works.

You know what? I wasn’t wrong!

This book proved to be an excellent guide on how to identify the liars, cheats and otherwise dishonest or harmful people in this world, as subtly deceptive as some have proven to be. No matter how good a judge of character you think you already are, even if you’ve never read the original book before buying this summary; I’m certain you will get something out of this time saving book summary by chapter publication.

As is the case in the original Life Code publication; in the first three chapters of this book summary you will discover the common types of people who wouldn’t think twice about abusing, manipulating or otherwise taking advantage of you without losing sleep over it. In the rest of the book we will be reading about how to positively move ahead in our lives and come out on top. Yes! Despite the encounters we have had with any of the common personality types described in the first three chapters of this summary, based on Dr. Phil’s book, the possibility to pull ahead in life still exists.

Phil McGraw tells us, in the original Life Code Introduction, that his intention in writing this book was not to change who we are but to enhance who we are. This is, of course, unless we should find ourselves in chapters one through three! I think the inference here is pretty plain without me elaborating don’t you?

Anyhow, let’s keep moving right along then, “Shall we?”

McGraw tells us right off the mark that in writing this book he began by listing all of the people who took advantage of him, lied to, or hurt and betrayed him personally in his life. He confesses here that it was a long list of people that extended all the way back to his childhood. We can probably all easily create such a list. But Mr. McGraw then proceeded to do something with these sources of his more painful life experiences the rest of us don’t generally do.

Phil took each name on his newly created list and wrote about the experience he had with each one in as much detail as he could. He wrote about who these people were and what exactly they did or, in some cases, attempted to do. This involved writing about everything each person had said and done, when they had their sights set on him as a target. Dr. Phil tells us that several pages were required in order to properly write about some people.

Why would he do this? Well… It goes like this!

By doing the above described exercise; Phil was able to then look at what he had written regarding each person side by side on a wall. This helped him identify the commonalities between people on his list and their behaviors and tactics.

Born out of all this we get a book that tells us about the eight types of people we need to be on the lookout for. Mr. McGraw also assures us here that he will tell us, in the chapters ahead, about the fifteen strategies/tactics that these eight different types of people will use in order to bend us to their will.

However, Dr. Phil McGraw goes one step further with this book. He explains that he also did the same exercise that we just talked about with the people he admired in his life and knew to be successful. He again found certain commonalities between these folks that enabled him to give us a list of sixteen things that we can all do to enjoy success, too, just like his friends and associates.

Having read a considerable amount of material myself in the area of personal development and having some formal classroom education in the area of psychology; I have to agree with Phil McGraw when he writes that no one has done what he’s done in the preparation for his published work, which this book summary is based upon. I believe he is right in pointing out, too, that if you are one (like me) who’s been reading books in an effort to improve yourself and your life, following their guidance to the letter and your life still isn’t where you would like it to be… Well… It’s because… Ummmm… “We’ve been reading the wrong books!”

Is this going to be the right book for you? There’s only one way to find out! So let’s get rocken along as we dive deeper into this summarized version of Phil McGraw’s original work, “Life Code; The New Rules For Winning In The Real World!”

Author: Brian Schnabel

[]: Because it’s all about how you feel; I’m plugin it all in here via Microsoft Word 2016, Windows 10, JAWS 2018 and the screen reader accessibility of WordPress 4.9.0.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *